By: Harvey A. Miller Jr, University Counselor, United World College Costa Rica; Tina MacDonald, Associate Director of International Admission, Bentley University; Joe Tavares, High School Counselor, Jakarta Intercultural School;

Efua Adabie is unapologetic about pushing her students to venture outside their comfort zones.  As the founding principal of a high school in Ghana for high-achieving, low-income African girls interested in STEM fields, Efua challenges students to innovate and solve problems that exist on the African continent.  

Efua is a role model for taking on new challenges herself. With limited resources and no formal training, she has successfully created a college guidance program that has helped students at her high school go on to universities in Ghana as well as Minerva in the U.S. and University of Edinburgh in the U.K.

Efua is one of the 12 incredible educators recently selected to participate in the 2018 International ACAC Scholar Program.  The program, which is celebrating its 5th year, supports high-impact counselors working with academically talented, under-resourced students.  

Program participants are fully funded to attend the annual International ACAC conference and a post-conference bus tour that allows them to learn about multiple U.S. universities.  Moreover, they are paired with International ACAC members who support their ongoing professional development through a year-long mentorship program. All of these activities ensure program recipients gain new knowledge, learn best practices and build a wider professional network.

Selection for the International ACAC Scholar Program is very competitive and based on leadership, demonstrated commitment, and potential impact of a counselor within a school and his/her local community; the academic talent and financial need of students within a student body; the resources available to a counselor and a school within their community; as well as the needs of various countries and regions.

Congratulations to the 12 educators selected for the 2018 International ACAC Scholar Program:

1. Adriana Rigueira, Instituto Federal de Educação, Ciência e Tecnologia do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

2. Diana Londoño Morales, Institución Educativa Policarpa Salavarrieta, Colombia

3. Efua Adabie, African Science Academy, Ghana

4. Emanuel Tsingay, The School of St Jude, Tanzania

5. Ermek Esenaliev, International Sapat Education Institution, Kyrgyzstan

6. Gregory Dube, Livingstone Kolobeng College, Botswana

7. James Akaba, Open Dreams, Cameroon

8. Maia Otiashvili, LEPL V.Komarovi Tbilisi Physics and Mathematics N199 Public School, Georgia

9. Masresha Esayas, Lebawi Academy, Ethiopia

10. Oyunchimeg Ayurzana, Mongol Aspiration International Laboratory School, Mongolia

11. Rabi Prasad Baral, Gandaki Boarding School, Nepal

12. Vanja Rakočević, Slobodan Skerovic Gymnasium, Montenegro

A special thank you to individuals who nominated the 2018 International ACAC Scholars:

  • Anica Vujnovic at EducationUSA (Montenegro)

  • Bernice Affotey at EducationUSA (Ghana)

  • Christina Callahan at Northwestern University (U.S.)

  • Danny Parra at the Institute of International Education (UAE)

  • Emelda Lum at Government Bilingual High School Bamenda (Cameroon)

  • Gantumur Bat-Erdene at Educational Advising Resource Center (Mongolia)

  • Joan Liu at United World College South East Asia, East Campus (Singapore)

  • John Storer at Waterford Kamhlaba United World College (Swaziland)

  • Julie Loveless at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (U.S.)

  • Laura Kaub at Yale Young African Scholars Program (U.S.)

  • Martha Roman at EducationUSA (Colombia)

  • Priyani Shah at EducationUSA (Nepal)

  • Raphael Anderson at the British Council (Ghana)

  • Veronique Hob-Hob at Minerva Schools at KGI (U.S.)

We would also like to give a special thank you to the following institutions and organizations who donated to the Scholar Fund this year:

Babson College | Barnard College | Bentley University | Columbia University | Creighton University | Dartmouth College | Elite Scholars of China | Fairfield University | Fordham University | Loyola Marymount University (Los Angeles) | Loyola University Chicago | Marquette University | MIT | Princeton University | Saint Louis University | Stanford University | Study Massachusetts | Suffolk University | University of British Columbia | University of Pennsylvania | University of San Francisco | Wellesley College | Worcester Polytechnic Institute | Wren and Fida International | Yale University

For information on how you can financially support the International ACAC Scholar Program, please contact [email protected].

Share this post:


Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment