OACAC Scholars 2015

By Joan Liu
University Advisor, United World College of South East Asia

OACAC actively promotes access to higher education opportunities for the neediest students around the world by supporting those who work directly with them. Through the OACAC Scholarship Program, we fund and support high-impact counselors working to help academically bright, but under-resourced international students gain access to higher education.  

Thank you for helping us identify talented counselors around the world. This year, we received 73 nominations from you. We then reached out to these nominees to encourage them to apply for the OACAC Scholarship. In total, we received 61 applications from 49 countries. 

Congratulations to the following counselors, who were selected as scholarship recipients. We applaud and support their efforts in making a difference in the lives of their students, countries, and regions:  

1. Tsehaye Yohannes, St. Joseph School, Ethiopia 

2. Ed Tourle, Pestalozzi International Village Trust, England 

3. John Mwaura, Starehe Girls Center School, Kenya 

4. Sam Birondwa, Cornerstone Leadership Academy, Rwanda 

5. Omowunmi Ehikametalor, Immaculate Conception High school, Jamaica 

6. Saingerel Indree, New Era International Laboratory School, Mongolia 

7. Kenneth Adu-Awuku, Livingstone Kolobeng College, Botswana 

8. Stephanie Kane, Senegalese-American Bilingual School, Senegal 

9. Saima ben Brahim. Ibn Khaldoun Middle School in Ariana, Tunisia 

10. Hetty Hamonongan, Jubilee School, Indonesia 

Scholarship recipients are funded to attend the OACAC Financial Aid Institute, the OACAC conference, as well as a bus tour. We believe that this professional development will allow these counselors to bring new knowledge, skills, and connections to their students, communities, and regions.

Selection for the scholarship is based on the following criteria: the leadership, demonstrated commitment, and potential impact of a counselor within a school and his/her local community; the academic talent and financial need of students within a student body; the resources available to a counselor and a school within a particular community; as well as the needs of various countries and regions. The selection panel is comprised of members of the Inclusion, Access, and Success committee, and includes representation from admissions officers, counselors, board members, and EducationUSA. 

Funding and support for the OACAC Scholarship Cohort 2015 is made possible through the following institutions and individuals who have donated to the Scholar Fund:

AirConcepts USA, California Lutheran University, Council of International Schools (CIS) Asia Committee, InitialView, the Jesuit Institutions (Creighton University, Fordham University, Gonzaga University, John Carroll University, Loyola Marymount University, Loyola University of Chicago, Marquette University, Saint Louis University, Santa Clara University, St. Peter's University, University of San Francisco, Xavier University), Marist College, Meghan McHale Dangremond, NACAC Public School Counselor Grant, NACAC Transfer Grant, OACAC 5K 2014, OACAC Silent Auction 2014, OACAC Executive Board, Quinnipiac University, Robyn Combes (Scholarship Cohort '14), Roohi Iqbal, Top Scholars, University of British Columbia, Webster University, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Wren & Fida International.

Without this individual and organizational support, we could not possibly touch the lives of counselors and students in so many critical areas of the world.

Share this post:

Comments on "OACAC SCHOLARS 2015"

Comments 0-5 of 1

Dorothy Guyot - Wednesday, July 01, 2015

The scholars are a most welcome addition to the conference because so many of us high school counselors come from schools that must charge a hefty tuition and usually do not have the advantage the Pre-Collegiate Program has enjoyed for the 12 years of its existence in Myanmar -- to run need-blind admissions. Dorothy Guyot and Helen Waller

Please login to comment