By Joan Liu
University Advisor, United World College of South East Asia

 Shabana Basij-Rasikh dressed as a boy to go to school, because under the Taliban, educating women was forbidden. When Shabana was at Middlebury College, she founded the School of Leadership, Afghanistan (SOLA). One of reasons why was because she wanted girls to have the access to secondary education that she did not have.

A humanitarian, educator, and women's rights champion, Shabana is just one of the 12 incredible educators joining us this year in Cleveland, as part of the Scholars Program. The International ACAC Scholars Program supports high-impact counselors working with academically talented, but under-resourced students as they seek to gain access to higher education outside their home countries. This program is one key way that International ACAC actively promotes access to higher education for international students around the world.

Scholars are funded to attend the Pre-Conference Institute, and the main conference, as well as a bus tour. They are paired with a mentor for a year beyond the conference. We believe this four-part program allows these counselors to bring new knowledge, best practices and a larger network to their local communities.

Congratulations to the following educators, who were selected for Scholar Cohort 2017. We applaud you for the difference you are making in your schools, countries, and regions:

1. Arturo Omar Ochoa, Instituto La Salle de Chihuahua, Mexico
2. Francine Mohammed, St. Joseph's Convent, Trinidad and Tobago
3. Manuel Ogalde, Instituto Nacional, Chile 
4. Sally Sanchez Jimenez, Liceo de Puriscal, Costa Rica 
5. Fernando Revelo La Rotta, St. Andrew's Refugee School, Egypt
6. Eva Ntalami, Zawadi Africa Educational Fund, Kenya 
7. Mabadjam Katawa, Lycee Scientifique de Kara, Togo
8. Vatosoa Raharinosy, Lycee Andohalo, Madagascar 
9. William Ssettuba, Mengo Senior School, Uganda 
10. Aziz Royesh, Marefat School, Aghanistan 
11. Shabana Basij-Rasikh, School of Leadership, Afghanistan
12. Nileema Khan, DPS Schools, Bangladesh


Selection for the scholarship is based on the leadership, demonstrated commitment, and potential impact of a counselor within a school and his/her local community; the academic talent and financial need of students within a student body; the resources available to a counselor and a school within their community; as well as the needs of various countries and regions.

A special thank you to nominators of the 2017 Scholar Cohort:

  • Anna Dechert at NYU Abu Dhabi
  • Basile Komla Koumi at EducationUSA in Togo
  • Brenda Paz Soldan at EdUSA in Chile  
  • Christina Callahan at Northwestern University
  • Flavia Murengezi at Green Hills School in Rwanda
  • Jodi Robinson at U Pennsylvania
  • Kaye-Lani Laughna at Davidson College
  • Laura Kaub at Yale Young African Scholars Program
  • Leila Mohd at Zawadi Africa Education Fund in Kenya
  • Munir Sayegh at Purdue University
  • Tracey Grimm at Lincoln School in Costa Rica.

We would also like to give a special thank you to the following institutions and organizations who donated to the Scholar Fund this year:

AirConcepts | Brown University Creighton University | Dartmouth University | Elite Scholars of China | Fairfield University | Fordham University | InitialView | John Carroll University | Loyola Marymount University (Los Angeles) | Loyola University Chicago | Marist College | Marquette University | MIT | Princeton University | Saigon South International School | Saint Louis University | Stanford University | University of Pennsylvania | Worcester Polytechnic Institute | Wren and Fida | Yale University

If you ran the 5K last year; or bought a raffle ticket at the Scholar Raffle, you also played a role in Scholar Cohort 2017 to Cleveland! Without this individual membership and institutional support, we could not touch the lives of counselors, students, and communities in so many critical areas of the world. Thank you!

We look forward to welcoming the 2017 Scholar Cohort to Cleveland this summer.

Share this post:


Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment